Squeezing in a Run

What a lovely Monday we had on our hand today,eh?  I mean, if every Monday could be close to 80 I think we’d be in much better shape.  Of course, I could do without the full day  of school AND the principal’s meeting that kept me indoors until 4, but that’s a story for another day.

Point is- I love this time of year when we start getting warmer weather.  They days are longer too which makes me want to get outside and make the most of the daylight!

I did just that when I busted out of school this afternoon- but we will get to that later.

Let’s talk eats first.

Breakfast was a three way combo that I munched on from 7:30 a.m. to like 10.  hey, it works.  I started with a french vanilla iced coffee from Dunks and a waffle sandwich.

The waffle sandwich was made with two Van’s blueberry waffles, half a banana sliced into three, and a tablespoon (or two) of Peanut Butter and Co. Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter.  I actually ran out of regular peanut butter which is why I went with this combo but I wasn’t upset.  it was pretty darn good.  I also had a shake made with a sliced banana, almond milk, ice and water.

Lunch was Spaghetti-O’s (I hadn’t gone food shopping yet obvi.).  When was the last time you had these?

I made the decision the second I stepped out of school to run to and from Avalon Crossfit.  It was a good and bad decision.  Good because it is a sneaky way to get in some mileage towards my half marathon training plan, bad because the WOD included some running in it.  I munched on three Power Bar energy chews before I headed out for the run.

I ran 1.21 miles there and back and ran 1.5 miles during the WOD for a total of just under 4 miles. My legs felt great until the run home when my shins started stinging a little bit.  I wasn’t running crazy or anything but I have gotten shin splints a few times in the past, mainly because I tried to do too much too fast.  This time it is because I need new sneakers (I got my last pair in October).

Our WOD was done outside at the high school track, which was great because 15 people were signed up for class tonight.  We would NOT have survived an indoor class with that many people.  It was refreshing to be outside!

WOD “Harkey”  3 rounds for time (I finished in 30min 5 seconds)

  • 50 ab mat it-ups
  • 50 double unders/250 singles (I can’t jump rope for the life of me.  Attempts counted for the Double unders.  I did a mix between both)
  • 800m/0.5mile run

I asked John to watch when I jumped rope and he told me I was using my shoulders, as opposed to my wrists to swing the rope around.  We were kind short on jump ropes so I didn’t get to try this with the right rope for me until my last round.  Double Unders are not easy!

This kid is my idol!

Dinner tonight was a store-bought chicken breast, long-grain garlic rice pilaf, and corn on the cob with a slab o’ butter.  I used to hate corn on the cob because of how much I hate the feeling of getting it stuck in my teeth.  Now I have a technique:  I kinda knaw on it at an angle.  It works perfectly, no floss needed!

I tried a zillion times to get the picture of the dinner to download but it wouldn’t and I am over it.  It i just about my bedtime peeps.

How did you spend your afternoon??

~L

Leave a Reply

