Take it to the Track Baby

I had an extremely productive day today.  I bought new sneakers, made Dirt for Easter (recipe post to follow), did 2 loads of laundry, AND made a last minute decision to attend an Avalon Crossfit class.

I hadn’t intended on working out today but when I saw the Workout of the Day (WOD) I knew I had to do it!

First, it was outside on the track.  Well, it was kind of cold out (obviously the snowy-winter turned me into a wuss because I didn’t always HATE working out in the cold), but I knew that once I was warmed up I’d be OK.

(SOURCE)

Second, it involved a 2 mile  run, split into 5-400m loops around the track.  Hey, I wanted to try out my new sneakers! (The were fantastic by the way!  I am in love with them!)

WOD: Take it to the Track

  • 400m run
  • 50 sit ups
  • 400m run
  • 50 push-ups (modified on knees)
  • 400m run
  • 50 air-squats
  • 400m run
  • 50 ledge jumps (think box jumps on a ledge)
  • 400m run
  • 50 ledge dips

and DONE!  in 21:20

It was NOT easy running after doing 50 squats- or 50 ledge jumps, but I did it and I had an incredible “ruuner’s high” after finishing!

I also decided that I need to start rocking out some real push=ups.  I think I could probably stick with the modification forever and it won’t necesarily help me progress to “real” ones.  The next WOD that calls for 10 push ups each round I will make myself do real ones.  I know it may take longer, which is tough when you are doing the WOD for time, but it is the only way I can start being stronger.

After I master push ups, I’ll take on the pull-ups, but that is another story for another day.

Regina’s Pizza + red wine= best post-workout meal ever.

What are you looking forward to doing most outside as the weather gets warmer?  I can’t wait to get back into running 3/4 days a week!

~L

One thought on “Take it to the Track Baby

  1. Pingback: Another Rainy Day | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

