Another Rainy Day

Hey there!  I wanted to start off for apologizing the bomb of blog posts I published yesterday.  I felt the motivation to write and went with it!  If you missed them, check them out here, here, and here.  I am really trying to post more regularly but sometimes I feel lazy uninspired.

I had a rough time sleeping last night.  I think I woke up around 5 a.m. and tossed and turned thinking about how vacation is basically over, I haven’t correct a single paper I brought home, and our math MCAS is 11 teaching days upon our return to school Monday.  I still have a ton of math to cram down my fifth graders throats teach and it is freaking me out.  Believe me, MCAS causes a lot more stress on teachers and staff than politicians and the general public would think.  I mean, in Massachusetts the education commissioner is actually proposing using test results as the “central” tool in evaluating the effectiveness of teachers (see article here).  Ugh.  That is another story for another day.


(SOURCE)

But I can’t let that ruin the last two days of vacation I have now can I?

After tossing and turning, and watching TV, I fell back asleep around 8, for my alarm to go off at 9:30 for bootcamp.  It boggles my mind how fast an hour and a half of sleep can go by!  Literally I felt like I had just closed my eyes.  I debated skipping but my body was telling me I could definitely handle class this morning.

And rainy Saturday afternoons are made for naps, right?!

I was a little sore from yesterday’s WOD but I decided to push through and give at the very least 90% of what I had to give.  There were a lot of new faces in class today, which is great to not be so much of an Avalon Crossfit newbie see membership expanding.

BOOTCAMP 3/23

1 minute, AMRAP (as many rounds as possible)

4 rounds

  • walking lunges
  • wall ball shots
  • push-ups (I wussed out and did them on my knees, even though I said I was going to tough out “real” ones)
  • jump rope singles
  • shuttle runs
  • rower
  • ab mat sit ups
We did 3 rounds and Marc, the trainer, decided to switch the last round to 2 minutes of burpees and 2 minutes of mountain climbers.
What a crazy decision, though I did appreciate the surprise element of the switch.  I didn’t get to dread the burpees until literally 30 seconds before having to do them.  And for the record, 2 minutes of burpees is not half as bad as 2 minutes of mountain climbers.
Good workout.
It was pouring out after and I decided getting a hot latte would be a good decision.  I stopped into Zumes and got a caramel latte with skim milk.  Yum.
Then I did some more baking for Easter.
Oh ya, I have a couple of dessert posts coming up!
Must. get. some. lunch.
Later,
~L
Leave a Reply

