Blink of an Eye

Boy do weekends fly by in the blink of an eye!  My Monday isn’t off to a great start (and now that it is almost 6 pm I can consider the day a total wash) so I’d love to recap my busy but fun weekend.

Friday after school I headed for a run with Ali.  We did a quick 3.5 miles from Charlestown to the North End and back.  I was surprised at how easy running felt considering the fact I haven’t run at all the past couple weeks.  Of course now that I feel like I could run this week’s weather in Boston does not look conducive to doing so (and I mangled my toed by karate-kicking my couch this am but we will get to that later).

After the run I got showered and changed and met up with Ali again to head to trivia night to benefit Charlestown Lacrosse with Avalon Crossfit.  We had two teams competing against each other with the other tables.  Over all my team “Avalon Crossfit 2” came in second place!  We missed first by one point.  *pats on the back*  It was a lot of fun and on the way out Ali snapped this picture of the two teams:

After trivia Ali and I headed to the Warren Tavern to chat over a few beers.

Saturday I woke up and met my friend Maureen to volunteer for a race.  It was my first time volunteering and I had high hopes.  When we got to the race site there were a few people setting up but no one was checking in volunteers and I had no idea what to do.  Finally after 20 minutes or so of awkward standing around we helped put up a tent.

After that we had a bunch of waiting around to do.  We grabbed a couple of t-shirts and helped out a bit, but ultimately decided to duck out early.  I probably will stick to running races from now on 🙂

Lunch was at the Cheesecake Factory.  I had 2 strawberry martinis.  They are so delicious, completely refreshing, and made with fresh muddled strawberries (remember when i made them at home?).

I also started with a few pieces of their brown bread and a salad with balsamic vinegarette.

Pizza is always a good decision so that is what I got for my meal.  BBQ chicken pizza with a side of ranch.

After having pizza for lunch Saturday I officially ate pizza 5 of the 7 days last week.  Ooops.  Well worth it, trust me.

Speaking of pizza, I can’t wait to tell you about my new reason to love Monday.

Stay tuned to hear about it!

~l

nji

Leave a Reply

