Harkey and Pizza

Happy Pizza Monday friends!  I hope you all remembered that Pizza Monday gives you a reason to get out of bed after the weekend flies by!

I went food shopping after school today and picked up everything I needed.

Alexa Brand potatoes: parmesan and garlic flavor.  They are thick potatoes, less like a french fry, more like a roasted potato.  The seasoning was very tasty.  These babies are filling!

Salad:  50/50 Spring Mix and spinach, carrots, cucumbers, croutons, Newman’s Own Balsamic vinaigrette.

Pizza: Crust (Pillsbury roll out refrigerated), sauce (Contidina), pizza (cheddar/mozzarella mix).

I LOVED the Pillsbury dough because it was quick and easy.  All you have to do is grease the pan with Pam and stretch the dough to fit the cookie sheet.  It was way less messy than whipping out the flour and rolling-pin.

I spread some olive oil over the dough and cook it about 10 minutes to let the dough cook a bit before putting the sauce and cheese on.  Then you really only need to cook the pizza in the oven until the cheese melts.

The result was extra crispy but soft crust.  It was definitely Jack’s favorite so far.

With dinner I drank my newest obsession: Powerade Zero Strawberry.  I got a sample yesterday at the Harpoon 5-Miler (I will be writing about that later) and I couldn’t wait to get some more.  It was the first thing in my cart at the store today.  It tastes just like strawberry jello when it is in liquid form.

Before I had dinner I went to my usual Monday night class at Avalon Crossfit.  Marc was subbing for John tonight which was cool because I usually didn’t see him until Bootcamp on Tuesdays.  The original WOD was supposed to include 800m runs on the track outside, but since it is raining, they changed it up and kept us indoors.  I was pretty sure it would be inside but I was kinda wishing to go out.

Warm-Up:

  • Side lunges the length of the floor
  • inch worms the length of the floor
3 Rounds:
  • 20 air squats
  • 20 mountain climbers
  • 20 pass throughs with a PVC pipe
My quads were SCREAMING during all the squats, which was not a good sign considering the WOD was:
Indoor “Harkey”
3 rounds for time
  • 50 ab mat sit ups
  • 150 jump rope singles (because I can’t double under)
  • 50 air squats (SCREAMING quads!)
  • 50 Kettle bell swings (12kg)
It was a tough workout today.  My legs were tired from a 4.5 mile run Saturday and a 5 mile race yesterday.  I finished in just under 25 minutes (I don’t remember the exact time) and had to go slow and steady.  I actually felt like I had nothing left to give with only 15 KB swings left in the WOD.  Thank goodness for the supportive Crossfitters who cheered me on through those last ones.
This week I am in my final preparations for my first half marathon this Sunday.  I am going to have to let my legs rest if they are going to get me through 13.1 miles.  I am going to go to Bootcamp tomorrow and Crossfit class on Wednesday then take Thursday through Saturday off to tackle my pre-race to-do list.  
Pre-Race To-Do List (so far):
  • make a killer playlist (HELP?!)
  • check weather obsessively and decide what to wear
  • try to relax and think positive
OK, it is getting late and I am trying to get to bed early enough to actually read more than two paragraphs of the Chelsea Handler book.  It is so amusing but I find myself getting to be too late to enjoy it before falling asleep.
Night
~L


Leave a Reply

