psyched

Hello!  How was everyone’s Tuesday?  I was pretty psyched that it was forecasted to be 80 degrees and sunny in the Boston area.  I was up and ready to go so early today!  Having my lunch packed the night before and a fun math lesson to do with my fifth graders did wonders for my motivation to get out of bed today.

After school I came home, did some blogging, cleaned up the house and waited for Ali to stop in so we could head to Avalon Crossfit Bootcamp at 5:30.  I have been taking Marc’s bootcamp class for a while now and really do enjoy the format and his instructing style.

Today we got to go outside to enjoy the weather (with everyone else in Charlestown 😉 ).  I have begun to realize that a lot of the outdoor WOD/classes are going to involve running, which I am OK with for the most part.  I am not very fast but hopefully that can be something that comes with more 400m runs.

Today my legs were extremely tired: my calves are tight and my hamstrings burn when I walk up the stairs.  After class today I decided that I need to put anymore Crossfit classes on hold until after the race Sunday.  No sense in pushing through to get in a workout, over-doing it can lead to injury.  Part of it is definitely because this weekend I ran twice (4.5 miles Saturday and 5 miles Sunday).

Bootcamp Warm-Up

  • 0-25 yard line: walking lunges, high knees, butt-kickers
  • 3 rounds: 25 jumping jacks, 15 air squats (yeee-ouch!), 5 inch worms

Bootcamp WOD (Crossfit Benchmark workout modified to work outside)

AMRAP in 20 minutes: I did 5 full rounds and a 6th round with the running and ledge jumps

  • 400m run
  • 10 ledge jumps
  • as many chest to ground push ups as possible without stopping (I usually did 10-15)
It was a really good workout but I couldn’t wait to get home to eat.  I didn’t have a chance to have my pre-workout Clif bar today and I could feel it when I was working out!
Dinner tonight started with a half glass of Riesling that I had to drink before it went bad 😉 *wink* and a salad.
Main course is Barilla pasta (it cooks in 45 seconds and is so much better than dry pasta) and a couple pieces of Pepperidge Farms frozen mozerella garlic bread.
On tap for tonight is the Glee season finale and bed.
The weekend can’t get here soon enough!
~L
Leave a Reply

