Clif Bars and Energy

Before I headed to Avalon Crossfit tonight (and after drinking my water 😉 ) I had a Chocolate Chip Clif Bar.  They are pretty high in calories (240) so I don’t eat these babies just as a regular ol’ snack.  I save ’em for pre-workouts and choose Luna bars or Clif Mo-Jo bars as my snackies because they have around 190 calories a bar and seem more fitting for a snack.

These things are my go-to workout fuel (if it’s not broke, don’t fix it!). When I first began my on-boarding sessions with Tristan I had sent him an email explaining that sometimes during the classes I felt shaky and lethargic.  While he acknowledged that part of the reason I felt that way was because my body may not be use to such high intensity workouts, he also sent me some really good information about properly fueling for a high intensity workout.

 Tristan’s Tips on What to Eat Pre-Workout:

  • Try to eat something 1 to 2 hours before your workout (any closer than that, and you won’t have enough time to digest much of it).
  • Though everyone is different, try to eat 20 to 30 grabs of protein and 50 to 60 grams of carbs. Avoid fat for the most part, because it will just slow down absorption in your stomach. The carbs should be “simple,” so they digest easily, like bananas, Clif bars (woop woop 🙂 ) oatmeal, etc.
  •  Post-workout is just as important, because if you wait too long to eat afterward, your body might start “eating” away at your muscle to repair the damage done from the workout. Try to eat more quickly digestible carbs and some protein within an hour after your workout. You can have something small, even like half a Clif bar, to tide you over until you have a real meal.
  • Try experimenting a little bit with portions and different foods. If you like bananas, then one day you should add one to your lunch, another later in the day, then eat whatever you usually would pre-workout.

I used the tips and found for myself that having a Clif bar 1 1/2 to 2 hours pre-workout was the best for me.  I also love bananas and eat one for breakfast everyday, but one a day is plenty for me.

Tristan and all the folks at Avalon Crossfit are really knowledgeable and approachable about anything that I have ever needed from food to hydrating to modifications!  If you are interested you should call Tristan up and set up an onboarding session.  In my opinion you won’t be sorry.

Wednesday’s WOD:

Motto: “Steady is fast”

Warm-up:

  • 10 Turskish get-ups with 4lb kettle bell
  • 10 air squats

Skill/Strength:

  • 5 x 5 Squat clean
WOD for 4 rounds:
  • 100m run up and back (200m total)
  • 5 turkish get-ups with right side (I used 8kg)
  • 5 turkish get-ups with left side
I finished in 13:35 and followed the motto “Steady is fast”.  I usually move in slow motion for a lot of what we do at Crossfit and try to get the form right.  I also think (and I may be the only one who thinks this) that it hurts way less if you go slower.  With that being said I am never winning any prizes or beating any records.  Today, however, John gave me the unofficial honor of the “Perfect Form for Turkish Get-ups”.  *SMILE*  For those of you who don’t know what a Turkish get-up is, take a looksie below:
I did that but with a kettle bell instead of the guy’s wife 🙂
After we cooled down with a few stretches and talked a little more about push-ups.  Then I headed straight to the liquor store Jack’s parents for a couple of beverages and some Regina’s pizza.  I had Pizza Sunday, Monday, and Wednesday this week.  Do you think I need an intervention??
Tonight I chose to try out something light and fruity: Michelob Ultra Pomegranate Raspberry.  At 95 calories it is light enough to eat with pizza and sweet enough to hide the fact it is a Michelob (I am a Miller Lite girl all the way).  Definitely a different alternative to some of the heavier summer beers out there.

Tomorrow is Thursday people, let’s rejoice!

Night

~L

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Clif Bars and Energy

  1. Pingback: I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

