Hydrating

Happy Wednesday folks!  I actually can’t believe it is only Wednesday.  For the past few weeks I have been feeling a day ahead of myself and now it is getting a little ridiculous.  Even my students are feeling the weeks drag.  This morning they were all thinking their weekly math homework quiz (which is due every Friday) was due tomorrow.  It was tough bursting all their bubbles to tell them, no guys, it is Wednesday and you have two nights to get it done.

Since Boston is currently embracing for crazy hot and humid temps the next few days my goal is to be as comfortable and cool in my classroom as possible.  I pretty much stopped doing my hair before school in December, but now with the threat of frizz I can really pull of my messy, side pony with bands look.

 

 

I also busted out this dress (from Old Navy), which I wore on Christmas Eve.  It is actually quite comfortable and looks way more summer-y than it does Christmas-y.  I got lots of compliments on it today, which mean I must usually look like a bum when I got to school, haha.

Summer-y:

Christmas-y

HYDRATING

I am also trying my hardest to stay hydrated.  I am not much of a drinker (Many days an iced coffee in the morning and some water during Crossfit gets me by) and I am certainly not used to doing such high intensity workouts in humid weather.  Avalon Crossfit’s blog yesterday posted a little blurb about the importance of proper hydration:

  • It will improve your performance
  • Reduce your recovery time
  • Prevent heat stroke

Part of the reason I dragged a** during yesterday’s outdoor WOD was because I was relying on hydrating during bootcamp as opposed to hydrating regularly throughout the day.  This obviously didn’t work for me because I barely made it through the workout!  Though the amounts of fluids you need to take in depend on the person, there are some general guidelines I found (SOURCE):

Hydration Before Exercise

  • Drink about 15-20 fl oz, 2-3 hours before exercise
  • Drink 8-10 fl oz 10-15 min before exercise

Hydration During Exercise

  •  Drink 8-10 fl oz every 10-15 min during exercise
  •  If exercising longer than 90 minutes, drink 8-10 fl oz of a sports drink every 15 – 30 minutes.

Hydration After Exercise

  • Weigh yourself before and after exercise and replace fluid losses.
  • Drink 20-24 fl oz water for every 1 lb lost.
  • Consume a 4:1 ratio of carbohydrate to protein within the 2 hours after exercise to replenish glycogen stores.

I am going to try out the “before exercise” tips.  They don’t seem that bad and I am hoping it doesn’t make me pee a ton 😉.  That means today at 3:00 I will drink 15-20 fl oz of water and another 8-10 fl oz before I head to Crossfit.  I’ll also bring my water bottle with me so I can drink during the WOD.  I am hoping that the only reason today’s WOD will be tough is because I am so sore from yesterday.  I will keep you posted.

 Eats

Today I began my day with a French Vanilla iced coffee and a waffle sandwich with peanut butter and half a banana.  I woke up famished and ate the other half of the banana while I got ready for school.

 

My belly was growling by snack time so I munched on some grapes and raspberries and sipped on a Vita Coco coconut water with pineapple juice.  I just recently tried these out and I enjoy them way more than water most of the time.  Especially when they are ice cold.

Lunch was a peanut butter and jelly sandwich with some Tostitos on the side.

 

Right now I am working on the hydration thing- starting with guzzling a bottle of water.  I tried to get it all down in one gulp but it wasn’t happening.

Hopefully being hydrated will make a big difference in tonight’s WOD.  It is pretty humid out there!  I’ll let you know how it goes!

 

Do you follow a “hydration plan” (i.e. drink regularly throughout the day, before/during/after)?  What works for you?

Catch ya later,

~L

6 thoughts on “Hydrating

  1. You read my mind, or stole my idea for a post – great minds think alike haha!!! So i have had such a hard time hydrating. So lately I drink water all day. In my opinion you can’t just wait till2-3 hours before, you have to be constantly constantly drinking right now. And that is what I am doing plus adding in gatarode and salty foods to keep the hydration in (pretzels, canned soup, pickles, peanut butter are great!!) but it is still ridiculously hard to keep hydrated. Ohhh boston, i love you but it is getting hot in here (ok stupid reference lol)

    • I have no idea how this hydration thing is going to work for me but I’ve got to do something if I want to be able to function while working out this summer! I had no idea about the salty foods. Do you think chocolate covered pretzels would help me stay hydrated too 😉 ?

  2. Im loving your blog!! Im having a huge hydrating problem. Im not a big water drinker and when i push the water the running to the bathroom drives me nuts! I much prefer the vita cocoa but they are so pricey. Ive been doing better though

    • I am glad you like it 🙂

      If I drink anything more than an iced coffee during school I need to pee at least once an hour! Which is not an easy feat for a teacher who can’t leave a class unsupervised!

  3. I drink an obscene amount of water- upwards of 64 oz. a day. But I require two cups of coffee a day so it is good for me. My body reacts really dramatically to dehydration. Luckily, I know my body well enough to make sure that doesn’t happen (usually). 🙂

  4. Pingback: I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts | Want.Believe.Achieve

Leave a Reply

