Dinner Envy

Hello everyone! Happy Wednesday night! Since I am teaching summer school this week seems to be dragging, but it my only full week of teaching this summer so I think I can make it ;). Having the sun shining brightly each day on my way to school is good motivation to make it through the school day and the warmer weather is motivation for the killer Crossfit workouts I’ve been doing.

Today after school Jack ran me to Priscilla’s of Boston on Boylston St. to pick up my bridesmaids dress I will be wearing in August for my cousin Casey’s wedding. I am not going to post any pics because I can’t ruin the surprise for all the wedding guests! What I can tell you I sent a picture to Casey and she approved of it!

When I got home I whipped up some lunch based on Jack’s meal at the Cheesecake Factory last night. Have you ever had dinner envy when the person you are dining with order a meal that looks far more appealing than yours? That was me last night! He got balsamic chicken medallions with stir-fried vegetables and rice.

Today I made this:

Green Giant teriyaki stir-fry (broccoli, red peppers, water chestnuts) and whole wheat angel hair pasta. It was very filling and delicious. It only took 15 minutes to make. I am a big fan of quick and filling foods.

After lunch a nap was in order. I was trying to catch up on the Real Housewives of NY but they lulled me to sleep somehow.

Since my half marathon I have taken a mini break from Crossfit and this is my first full week back at it. My muscles are feeling it I’ll tell ya. Today my shoulders were sore and my hamstrings and quads burned walking up the stairs, but tomorrow is going to be a rest day so that got me going.

I ran there today but was super slow because my legs felt so tight. Actually, judging by the way passers-by were looking at me I very well may have been walking, but I made it to Crossfit with 10 minutes to spare.

Warm-up:

  • 2 floor lengths each of bear crawls and walking lunges (Marc said it was a warm up for the WOD, I think it was torture)

3 rounds:

  • 15 jumping jacks
  • 10 double unders/30 singles
  • 10 jumping squats

Strength:

  • 5 x 5 push press (80lbs max)
  • alternating with 10 box jumps (20 in box)

The box jumps were hard.  It was the third day in a row I had done them and I definitely felt them in my calves and shins.
WOD: 2 rounds

  • 50 double unders/150 singles
  • 100m bear crawl
  • 100m walking lunges
  • BONUS: 800m run

CONFESSION:  I saw the bear crawls when the WOD was posted last night.  I was immediately scared and thought about canceling.  Knowing I was taking tomorrow as a rest day, and knowing that I wouldn’t be the only one faced with the task of bear crawling for 100m in public, I decided to suck it up and go.  I am glad I did, of course.  Sometimes the feeling after finishing is what drives me to go in the first place.

OBSERVATIONS:

  1. I needed to learn how to do double unders like yesterday.  Triple digit jump rope reps are just plain silly.
  2. Bear crawls did not hurt my shoulders the way I thought they would, they did have my quads SCREAMING though.
  3. Whoever though that running 800m, as a bonus, after doing 200m of bear crawls and 200m of walking lunges is insane.

Finish: 24:16.

And then I walked home. And I took the short route. Don’t judge me.

Now I am sitting on the couch waiting for Jack to bring home dinner. I know I am making it too much of a habit with the eating out (I don’t even think I need to tell you what he is bringing home), but I just still am not feeling the food shopping cooking.

What does the bright sunshine and warm weather motivate you to do?

2 thoughts on “Dinner Envy

Leave a Reply

